2 Strand Lucet Cord

2 Strand Lucet

I was “fidgety” today and decided to play with a 2 stranded lucet cord.  After many attempts and having to pull out the cord several times, I finally got it figured out!  Okay, I figured out *one* way to do a two stranded cord.

I decided to make a square cord (as opposed to flat or diamond) as this is the cord I am most familiar with.  I started my cord by holding both strands together and making the first four knots without separating the strands.  After I had my “anchor knot”, I dropped one strand and made two more knots using just the dark green thread.  I then dropped that strand and made two knots using just the cream colored thread.  I continued in this manner for about a foot, then decided to see if altering the pattern would make a difference.  I made only one knot with each strand before dropping it and picking up the other color.  I could find no difference between the two halves of cord – the visual pattern did not change at all.  When I tried to make a complete layer before switching strands (4 knots), all I got was a tangled mess!  Maybe with practice?  Next I’ll try a chevron pattern with a flat lucet braid!

I tried to get a decent close-up for you!

I tried to get a decent close-up for you!

About kharjamaki

Other than being a member of the Society for Creative Anachronism, I am a Mom (my boy will be 5 in April), a voracious reader, and an advocate of support and dignity for people with disabilities. I work for ODC, a company whose mission is to provide job opportunities to people with disabilities (of a wide variety of types and levels of severity).

Posted on February 17, 2014, in Other A&S and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

